Guelph’s Christmas Bird Count (CBC)

Click the coloured areas to get a detailed map of each region
Image Map

Guelph’s 51st Christmas Bird Count takes place on Sunday December 17, 2017. Everyone is welcome to participate. To take part, contact one of the leaders of the 13 sections shown in the table below and on the accompanying map, or count coordinator Mike Cadman at mikecadman33@gmail.com.

About the Christmas Bird Count

Every December, people all over the world participate in a citizen science project called the Christmas Bird Count. The Guelph count takes place in a 24km diameter circle around the city, and is divided into sections. Birders go out in teams to identify and count as many birds as possible in a single day in their section and results are compiled at a “tally rally” at the end of the day. The data is an important contribution to knowledge of wintering bird populations and how they are changing over time. You can find more information on the CBC on Bird Studies Canada’s website at: http://www.bsc-eoc.org/volunteer/cbc/index.jsp?targetpg=cbcparticpate&lang=EN

People of all levels of experience are welcome to participate in each year’s count!  The CBC is a great way to participate in avian science, and learn a little about the birds that spend their winters here in Guelph. 

Area Number Area Name Contact Phone            E-mail
1       Hanlon Valley  Rohan van Twest    519-823-5390        rvantwes@uoguelph.ca 
2       Aberfoyle       Dave Brewer 519-763-0997        adavidbrewer@yahoo.ca
3       Little Tract    Larry Staniforth    519-767-2693        staniforth.larry@rogers.com
4       Reformatory     Richard Baxter 519-803-1190 richardllbaxter@gmail.com
5       Speed River     Ron Lohr    519-824-9230        rlohr@uoguelph.ca
6       West End    Mike Cadman    519-822-9834        Mike.Cadman@Canada.ca
7       The Desert     Mike Lepage 519-821-9555 Mike.Lepage@rwdi.com
8       Kortright       Andrew Bailey 519-760-5724 abailey@uoguelph.ca
9       Eramosa River     Marnie Benson    519-830-4412 benson.zack@gmail.com
10      Halton      Dan Riley 226-820-3750 dan_riley317@yahoo.com
11      Guelph Lake    Kyle Horner    519-835-0944 kylejhorner@gmail.com
12      Rockwood        Bill McIlveen    519-853-3948        wmcilveen@sympatico.ca
13 Arkell Valerie Wyatt    519-826-6757         gwbirders@gmail.com